skip navigation

6 local student-athletes earn Dr. James E. Albright Parkview Sports Medicine Excellence Scholarships

By Eric Dutkiewicz; Aaron Dohring, 06/16/18, 2:45PM EDT


Awarded for academic success, athletic excellence and community contributions

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – Parkview Sports Medicine honored on Tuesday several student-athletes across Northeast Indiana and Northwest Ohio at the Dr. James E. Albright Parkview Sports Medicine Excellence Scholarship banquet.

The Albright Scholarship honors academic excellence, athletic achievement and community contributions, and was named for the late SportONE physician James Albright, MD, who died of cancer in August of 1993.

Six graduating seniors won $2,500 Albright Scholarships. This year, 64 nominees representing 21 different high schools and club organizations were nominated. Winners included one from Fort Wayne Community Schools, one from other Allen County high schools, two from high schools outside of Allen County, one representing club sports organizations and one chosen for the Carter Fleck Memorial Albright Scholarship.

2018 Albright Scholarship Winner - FWCS: Snider's Tyson Agnew

Snider High School senior Tyson Agnew won the 2018 Albright Scholarship for Fort Wayne Community Schools. Agnew ran for the Panthers’ boys cross country and boys track & field teams. He also played soccer while at Snider. Agnew earned a 3.9 grade point average, and was selected Academic All-State in cross country. He will attend the University of Saint Francis next fall with plans of majoring in pre-medicine and minoring in theology; and he will compete for the Cougars men’s cross country and track teams.

2018 Albright Scholarship Winner - Allen County: Heritage's Karlee Fackler

Heritage High School senior Karlee Fackler won the 2018 Albright Scholarship among nominees from Allen County high schools outside of Fort Wayne Community Schools. Fackler was a 3-sport varsity athlete at Heritage, competing in girls golf, girls basketball and softball. Fackler will attend Trine University to study exercise science. She also signed to join the Thunder women’s golf program. Fackler’s career goal is to be a physical therapist.

2018 Albright Scholarship Winner - Outside Allen County: Antwerp's Josh Poulson

Antwerp High School senior Josh Poulson won the one of two 2018 Albright Scholarship for nominees from high schools outside of Allen County. Poulson was a 3-sport athlete at Antwerp, playing football and baseball for 4 seasons and basketball for 2 seasons. In football, Poulson stood out at wide receiver; he earned All-Green Meadows Conference, All-District and All-Paulding County honors. In baseball, he was an All-County selection. In the classroom, Poulson earned a 3.8 GPA; and was on the Antwerp honor roll for 4 years. He also serves as student council president, is a member of the 4-H and is active in his church youth group. Poulson is headed to Bowling Green State University in the fall.

2018 Albright Scholarship Winner - Outside Allen County: Prairie Heights' Sarah Young

Prairie Heights High School senior Sarah Young won the second 2018 Albright Scholarship for nominees from high schools outside of Allen County. Young played soccer at Prairie Heights, serving as captain of the co-ed team. She also earned high academic honors in the classroom, and is part of the National Honor Society. Young will attend Purdue University Fort Wayne in the fall.

2018 Albright Scholarship Winner - Clubs: Summit Volleyball's Ellee Ruskaup

Summit Volleyball player Ellee Ruskaup won the 2018 Albright Scholarship for club sport student-athletes. Rauskaup recently graduated from Carroll High School, where she helped the Lady Chargers to a 4A volleyball state runner-up finish as a sophomore. Rauskaup traveled with Summit’s talented 18s team for the past 3 years. As a senior, Ruskaup garnered 1st Team All-Summit Athletic Conference, 2nd Team All-State and All-America watch list honors. Outside of school, she volunteers at her church. Ruskaup will attend Wright State University, and signed her national letter of intent to play for the women’s volleyball team.

2018 Carter Fleck Memorial Albright Scholarship Winner: Angola's Ryan Purkey

Angola High School senior Ryan Purkey won the 2018 Carter Fleck Memorial Albright Scholarship, which is given in honor of 17-year-old Homestead student-athlete Carter Fleck, who died of cancer in January of 2016.  Purkey wrestled and played football for the Hornets. Purkey served as team captain and was Academic All-State in wrestling. Purkey plans to attend a culinary school.

The Dr. James E. Albright Scholarships date back to the 2003-04 school year. Student-athletes were nominated by Parkview Sports Medicine athletic trainers assigned to their high schools. Winners were selected by a committee of athletic trainers who review the nominees’ applications. Parkview Sports Medicine has awarded more than $157,000 to 63 winners from 25 regional high schools and club organizations.