skip navigation

Northrop's Leslie Johnson, Snider's Kris Booker Rastrelli named to girls Silver Anniversary Team

By Eric Dutkiewicz, 04/28/18, 12:00PM EDT


NEW CASTLE, Ind. - Two former local standout basketball players have been named to the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Silver Anniversary Team.

Leslie Johnson from Northrop and Kris (Booker) Rastrelli of Snider are two of the 18 women to be honored.  The Silver Anniversary Team consists of the girls Indiana All-Stars from 25 years ago; and 6 other outstanding players named to various All-State teams in 1993.

Northrop's Leslie Johnson



Leslie Johnson set 18 school records while playing at Northrop, namely 2,045 career points, 1,282 rebounds and 71.5 percent career field goal shooting. She averaged 28.4 points and 14.1 rebounds per game as a senior, leading the Lady Bruins to a 25-1 record. In four seasons, Johnson led Northrop to three Summit Athletic Conference titles, 3 sectional titles, 3 regional titles and 3 semi-state finals appearances. She was a 4-time All-SAC selection, a 1993 Indiana All-Star, a USA Today All-American, a Parade 2nd team All-American and All-Stater. She was coached by the late hall-of-fame coach Dave Riley.  Johnson played collegiately at Purdue, earning consensus National Freshman of the Year honors and leading the Boilermakers in scoring en route to the Final Four. She later transferred to Western Kentucky before playing professionally in the WNBA and overseas.



Kris (Booker) Rastrelli averaged 17.9 points per game over 3 seasons for a Snider team that finished 68-18 overall and 25-2 in conference from 1990 to 1993. Booker guided the Lady Panthers to 68 wins during that time, while individually earning All-SAC honors 3 times. She was also named 3rd team All-State. She played under the late hall-of-fame coach LaMar Kilmer. Booker played college basketball at DePaul, where she was Academic All-Conference, leaving with the school record in career 3-pointers (184).

Johnson, Booker and the rest of the Silver Anniversary Team will be honored during the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Awards Banquet on April 28 in Indianapolis.  

MORE: Parkview Sports Medicine Home | Northrop Athletics | Snider Athletics | Basketball News

Snider's Kris (Booker) Rastrelli