skip navigation

Six graduating student-athletes honored with annual Albright Scholarships

By Eric Dutkiewicz; Aaron Dohring; Natalie Collins, 06/11/19, 8:00PM EDT


FORT WAYNE, Ind. – Parkview Sports Medicine honored on Tuesday several student-athletes across Northeast Indiana, Northwest Ohio and Lower Michigan  at the Dr. James E. Albright Parkview Sports Medicine Excellence Scholarship banquet.

The Albright Scholarship honors academic excellence, athletic achievement and community contributions; the award was named for the late SportONE physician James Albright, MD, who died of cancer in August of 1993.

Six graduating seniors from six Parkview Sports Medicine partner high schools and club organizations individually won $2,500 Albright Scholarships. In all, 57 nominees representing 22 different high schools and 2 clubs. Nominees were grouped by team physicians, which are Dr. John Pritchard, Dr. David Conner, Dr. Brett Gemlick, Dr. Michael Lee, Dr. Stephen Wright and Dr. Jeff Hartzell. The banquet was held at the Parkview Mirro Center for Research and Innovation.


2019 Albright Scholarship Winner: Blake Gribbin

Blake Gribben is the Albright Scholarship winner among nominees in the Dr. Pritchard grouping. Gribben earned three varsity letters in both basketball and baseball. The Apaches won sectional titles in both. Individually, he was All-TRC in baseball. His 3.9 GPA also earned him Academic All-Conference honors in baseball. Gribben was also active in Key Club, Students Against Destructive Decisions, Blessings In A Backpack, Apache Presence, Capernaem and the American Sign Language Club. He will attend Indiana University, and plans to study business management.


2019 Albright Scholarship Winner: Megan Godfrey

Megan Godfrey won the Albright Scholarship among nominees in the Dr. Conner grouping. Godfrey played basketball and tennis at West Noble High School. She was named MVP of the girls tennis team, and earned the team sportsmanship award each of the last 3 seasons. She also earned the sportsmanship award and honorable mention All-Northeast Corner Conference in basketball, and helped the Lady Chargers to their first sectional title in 31 years. She was also active in her church. Godfrey graduated with a 4.0 grade point average; and she was a member of the National Honor Society and student council, serving as class president as a sophomore. Godfrey is heading to Ball State University, and plans to study nursing.


2019 Albright Scholarship Winner: Catherine Steward

Catherine Steward won the Albright Scholarship among nominees in the Dr. Gemlick grouping. Steward played basketball at Leo High School, earning 2nd team All-Northeast 8 Conference honors. Outside of sports, Steward was active in a variety of school groups and community organizations, including: National Honor Society, Student Advisory Board, Students Sharing Hearts, Salvation Army bell ringers and the Johnny Appleseed Festival. She will attend Indiana Wesleyan University, and study biology.


2019 Albright Scholarship Winner: Ashton Wronikowski

Ashton Wronikowski of Team Pineapple Volleyball Club is the Albright Scholarship winner for nominees among Dr. Lee’s grouping. Wronikowski graduated from Bronson High School in Michigan, where she was part of four-straight Class C state championships. Individually, she was a 3-time All-State outside hitter. In club volleyball, she played on Team Pineapple’s 18 Open Black. Wronikowski earned a 3.99 GPA at Bronson. She is heading to West Liberty University in West Virginia, and plans to double-major in English and journalism.


2019 Albright Scholarship Winner: Refik Dogruyol

Refik Dogruyol won the Albright Scholarship for nominees in the Dr. Wright grouping. Dogruyol graduated from Wayne High School, where he played boys soccer and swam. He earned All-Summit Athletic Conference honors on the pitch, and represented all General student-athletes on the IHSAA Student Advisory Committee for 2 years. He also was a volunteer for Wayne’s Champions Together program and served as an ambassador to the National Federation of State High School Associations. In the classroom, he earned 4.398 GPA. He played club soccer with Fort Wayne Sport Club. Dogruyol signed his national letter of intent to play men’s soccer at the University of Indianapolis. He plans to study business management and business marketing.


2019 Albright Scholarship Winner: Jasper Donaldson

Jasper Donaldson of Northfield High School is the Albright Scholarship honoree from Dr. Hartzell’s grouping. Donaldson won the Carter Fleck Memorial Albright Scholarship, which is given in honor of 17-year-old Homestead student-athlete Carter Fleck, who died of cancer in January of 2016. Donaldson played football at Northfield, earning team MVP and All-Three Rivers Conference honors. The Norse won conference his sophomore year. Donaldson also wrestled, qualifying for the semi-state this past season. Outside of sports, Donaldson volunteers with several community and church groups.


The Dr. James E. Albright Parkview Sports Medicine Excellence Scholarships date back to the 2003-04 school year. Student-athletes were nominated by Parkview Sports Medicine athletic trainers assigned to their high schools. Winners were selected by a committee of athletic trainers who review the nominees’ applications. Parkview Sports Medicine has awarded more than $200,000 to 75 winners at 28 Parkview Sports Medicine partner high schools and club sports organizations.

Dr. James E. Albright